Case Testimonies From Interviews With Tibetan Survivors Of Torture. Part 2.

Part Two of the testimonies…

RT, who is 21 years old, reports that he was detained for seven days because Chinese police learned that he had spoken with two American reporters. When he was arrested, the police found that he had pictures of the Dalai Lama which the reporters had given him.

The police shackled my thumbs and then one of them stood on me. They beat me all over my body, hitting me with their fists and kicking me. They asked me why was I talking with the Americans and what did I say to them? Why did I have these pictures of the Dalai Lama? For the next five days, he was kept in solitary confinement in a small room without any light. He was given one small meal per day. Twice a day he was interrogated and tortured in a similar manner each session lasting for approximately two hours. 
While I was in prison I could hear the screams of others as they were beaten. I tried to cheer myself by saying his Holiness is with me and what I was doing I was doing for his Holiness. This helped to console me. I kept thinking about the Dalai Lama.

JT is a 27 year-old monk who states that he was arrested after attending a peaceful demonstration in Lhasa. He reports that police came to his monastery and found human rights pamphlets in his room. He was subsequently imprisoned for five and a half years.

“Upon my arrival in prison, my clothes and personal belongings, including Buddhist scriptures, were burned. I was beaten mercilessly, repeatedly punched all over my body, including on my face, and kicked in the back.” 

JT reports that he suffered similar severe beatings over the next several days and then less severe beatings almost every day there after. He was also repeatedly shocked with a cattle prod on his face and mouth. During these sessions JT reports Chinese guards would say “You are not allowed to talk about freedom.” On one occasion, JT reports that a German human rights group came to the prison. He reports that prior to the visit the Chinese authorities transferred several prisoners suffering torture related problems of out of the prison so that they would not be seen. JT says he tried to pass a note to the Germans about the problems in the prisons but it was intercepted by the Chinese officials. When several other prisoners and myself demanded to know where the other prisoners had been sent we were told, “You have no right to ask questions.” We were then shackled by our hands and feet while bending over. I was hit all over my body with fists. I was kicked and I was hit with the butt of a gun. We  were subsequently taken to very small separate cells without light. I was kept in the cell for twelve days. In addition to physical abuse, JT reports that he also suffered frequent verbal abuse during his imprisonment. The prison guards reportedly told him ,”You and your friends are the ones causing trouble in Tibet,” and would frequently make derogatory comments about the Dalai Lama. JT reports frequently witnessing other persons being beaten and tortured. ”I don’t mind about my suffering, but when I saw others suffering that was worse than my own.” On one occasion, JT witnessed an elderly man being beaten and stepped on. On another occasion, JT and several other prisoners reportedly brought a fellow prisoner to the prison doctor saying the man was very sick. The doctor reportedly said that there was nothing wrong with the man and sent him away. Five days later the man died…

According to JT, the political prisoners in the prison were required to work for over ten hours each day. The prisoners were put to hard labor without pay, mostly construction and other forms of manual work. He also reports that prisoners were required to cultivate
vegetable gardens. If the prisoners failed to raise their quota they were heavily punished for allegedly “avoiding work.” Working in the plastic enclosed vegetable gardens, which were heavily sprayed with pesticides, proved very unhealthy for the prisoners. Many prisoners complained of declining eyesight and frequently fainted while working.

TS, who is 32-year-old monk, reports that he was detained by Chinese security officers for putting up pro-democracy posters. He reports that he was brought to the police station and repeatedly interrogated and tortured.

While the police interrogated me, my hands were tied behind my back, either with shackles on my wrists or with thumb cuffs. I was electrocuted and hit with the cattle prod many times. I was punch and kicked all over my body. As they beat me they yelled at me saying ‘You are not a monk, monks are not supposed to do things like put up posters.”

LK, a 23-year-old Tibetan shepherd, was arrested for arguing with a local Chinese official about regulations concerning cattle. He was detained without a trial for three months.

During the first two months in prison, I was frequently beaten. I was kicked, and punched and hit with sticks. I was also shocked with electric cattle prods all over my body. At one point, I was kept alone in a small cell for two weeks. For four days I was not given any food. While I was in prison, I saw others tortured as well. Sometimes when I see people or things that remind me of prison, even chairs like those in prison, it disturbs me.”

Under the Criminal Law of the People’s Republic of China, it is forbidden to extort a confession by torture.(33) Furthermore, China is as signatory to a number of international human rights conventions, legally binding under international law, including the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, and the Convention on the Rights of the Child. Based upon PHR’s investigation, China is in clear violation of these conventions.

Source:   Physicians for Human Rights (PHR)

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

